Muslim Cricketers Named in the 2022 ICC Awards

By Halal Trip | 30, Jan, 2023
Muslim Cricketers Named in the 2022 ICC Awards

After an exhilarating year of cricket, culminating in England's triumphant victory at the T20 World Cup, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the recipients of the 2022 ICC Awards. These awards recognize the outstanding performances of players throughout the year.

The ICC Awards are an annual set of sports awards for international cricket, which recognize and honor the best international cricket players of the previous 12 months.

Here are the top Muslim cricketers who have been named in this year's ICC Awards:

halaltrip is now on telegram! get inspired: for the latest trends on travel & food! join our telegram group.


Winners at the 2022 ICC Awards

ICC Women’s Associate Cricketer of the Year - Esha Oza (UAE)

The United Arab Emirates' Esha Oza has been crowned the winner of this highly coveted award. Last year, she achieved an impressive feat of nearly 700 runs in 23 innings and was also a force to be reckoned with when bowling, taking 15 wickets at an average of 15.4.

Here we take a look at the performances to take out the award:

675 T20I runs at 35.52, strike rate 134.19, average 35.52, two centuries, two fifties
15 T20I wickets at 15.40, economy 4.84.

Over the course of the year, Oza faced 16 different opponents in a minimum of four competitions and a bilateral series versus Hong Kong.


ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year - Babar Azam (Pakistan)Babar Azam Pakistan

Image Credit: Babar Azam on Instagram

There were match-winning knocks, spellbinding stroke-play, and unforgettable moments in 2022 as Pakistan skipper Babar Azam earned the ICC Men's ODI Cricketer of the Year Award for the second year in a row.

Azam's leadership and skillful play helped his team to achieve success and glory.

Babar played only nine ODI games in 2022, which may come as a surprise to some, but the 28-year-old made the most of them by smashing three centuries, five half-centuries, and only truly struggling with the bat once.

Here we take a look at the performances to take out the award:

679 runs from nine matches at an average of 84.87 with three centuries.

The ultra-reliable right-hander continued to hold the No. 1 batsmen ranking as well.


Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year - Babar Azam (Pakistan)

Babar was the only player in all formats to surpass the 2000-run threshold in the calendar year. The inspiring captain continued to set personal records while making sure Pakistan's light shone brightly.

Here we take a look at the performances to take out the award:

2598 runs in 44 matches at an average of 54.12 with eight centuries and 15 half-centuries

The Pakistani captain performed in all three formats of the game.  He led Pakistan to the ICC Men's T20 World Cup final and won all three ODI series they played over the year.


ICC Spirit of Cricket Award - Aasif Sheikh (Nepal)
Md Aasif Sheikh Nepal

Image Credit: @sheikh_aasif7 on Instagram

Nepalese cricketer Aasif Sheikh has been bestowed with the prestigious ICC Spirit of Cricket Award for his exemplary sportsmanship.

Aasif Sheikh was commended for his decision to not run out Andy McBrine of Ireland, even after the latter stumbled while attempting a run. Sheikh's selfless act of kindness and respect for the game of cricket has been widely praised and celebrated.

Read more: 5 Muslim Cricketers To Watch Out For In The Men's T20 World Cup 2022


Mohammad Rizwan, Babar Azam, Fatima Sana winners at the 2021 ICC Awards

ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year – Mohammad Rizwan (Pakistan)
Mohammad Rizwan Pakistan

Image Credit: Mohammad Rizwan on Twitter

1326 runs in 29 matches at an average of 73.66 with one century; 24 dismissals.

Making his maiden T20I century in February against South Africa, Rizwan propelled his form into the T20 World Cup, making 79* from just 55 balls against India in their T20 World Cup opener, and finished as the third-highest run-scorer in the competition.


ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year – Babar Azam (Pakistan)

405 runs in six matches at an average of 67.50 with two centuries

Babar Azam might have played only six ODIs in 2021, but he made vital contributions in the two series that Pakistan played this year.

He was the second-highest run-scorer with 228 runs and was the Player of the Match in both of Pakistan's wins in the 2-1 series victory against South Africa. The architect of Pakistan's chase of 274 in the first ODI, Babar made a century and laid the foundation with an 82-ball 94 in the final ODI where the visitors posted 320 batting first.


ICC Emerging Women’s Cricketer of the Year – Fatima Sana (Pakistan)
Fatima Sana Pakistan Batting

Image Credit: Fatima Sana on Twitter

24 wickets at an average of 23.95 and 165 runs at 16.50 in 16 international matches.

20-year-old Pakistani pacer Fatima Sana impressed one and all with her all-around efforts in 2021. She became an integral part of Pakistan's ODI and T20I side owing to her wicket-taking ability as a bowler, and her ability to add handy runs down the order simultaneously.

Read More: 5 Muslim Cricketers To Watch Out For In The Men's T20 World Cup 2021

Leave a comment